Leonora’s room – how our handwoven Palomita rugs work for kids spaces

I’ve been meaning to get a post up of our beautiful Palomita rugs used in an actual space. I shot some pics of them in a studio environment a few weeks ago, but I thought it was also important to show them being used in a real environment, specifically a kids room. I bought the large 6.5 x 4.6 ft pink Palomita rug for my daughter Leonora’s space. She just turned 1 last week (!!) and basically, it was her birthday gift, a mighty nice one at that! We rent a nice sized house in Mexico, where prices for renting are VERY affordable so Leo  has her own  room filled with some fun finds I’ve been collecting since I moved to Mexico. 

SONY DSC

The rug is such a beautiful color and fun texture for little kids. We actually have the cream medium size runner  in our own bedroom and bebe spends every morning playing with her toys on it while we chug our morning cafés, at 6am.

SONY DSC

She inherited these little  guys from my own collection of Mexican crafts. They are felted animals I bought on a trip to Chiapas a few years ago and have always wanted to sell these in our shop, so when I get a chance to return I’m definitely going to hook up with an artisan who makes them. 

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Another thing Leo inherited from me is this mini paper maché deer head by artist friend Liliana Vargas. She painted it in the style of Huichol indigenous art and this is yet another thing I’ve been toying on selling in the shop. They are so cute and work great as a jewelry hang.

SONY DSC

I know, these guys have guns and I am so not a gun person, but they ARE so much fun. I think these to might even be Leo’s favorite toys. I’m in the process of making some marionettes by hand that are more like this

SONY DSC

We are fortunate to have so many creative friends. This mobile was made by a best friend of ours who makes amazing Jewelry, Karla Buenrostro, for bebe when she was born. 

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

This bed is my pride and joy and probably best find ever. It’s a Mexican antique hand-carved bed made of mahogany which I bought before Leo was born on the whim that one day I might have a little one to sleep in it. It cost only about $50 usd for the head and foot board in an antique shop that was going out of business, we had the base made by a local carpenter for about $150.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

This turn-of-the-century armoire was also a steal, I had it in my sewing studio when I was still making dresses. When Leo was born it was moved over to her room to hold all of the little hand-made dresses I hope to make for her in the future.

So basically the only thing we invested in buying for her room was the Mexchic Palomita rug! We repurposed a lot of stuff and since I am basically a hoarder of cute things it worked out to be quite inexpensive for us to decorate.

Leave a Reply

