>surrealism & mexican design

>

I first spotted this chair by the artist/designer/architect Pedro Friedeberg in a friend’s beautiful colonia Roma apartment while taking photos of some dresses I had just made. A large wooden hand cupped and erect just right to sit in, a perfectly frivolous, even odd but totally functional chair, the hand of God in form of a chair. Perfect. I ended up not asking my friend anything about it, not sure why, think I was just so consumed with taking the photos it didn’t cross my mind.
Flash forward today, I was doing some poking around the internet on Mexican Surrealism and came across Mr. Friedeberg’s website. He’s a hoot, just reading from his introduction alone, I’ve fallen in love. A trickster genius gentleman.
Here is another fantastic chair by Friedeberg. I love the mixture of gold and cow hide. If i were a queen I’d pick this as my throne.
I also quite like his watercolor paintings
Leave a Reply

