Malinalco’s Spell

Every week’s end we travel to nearby towns and a place we keep returning to is Malinalco. It is only a 45 min drive from where we live in Central Mexico and getting there is a magically beautiful ride.

She is majestically perched within a narrow valley, surrounded by ancient myths of witchcraft, pyramids where aztec warriors were celebrated, cave paintings of dancing devils, amazing little bars, wonderful Napoletano style pizza (a hard find in Mexico!) and a plethora of interesting people from all over the world.


Elite from Mexico City, French archeologists, anthropology students, Italian chefs, Argentine musicians, Belgian farmers, Colombian artists and surprisingly few American tourists (being an American myself I selfishly enjoy this aspect) all make their way there.

This cultural mash of interesting, mostly entrepreneurial with a creative bent, people have created a close knit, beautiful almost commune-like community where I totally want to live.

I’m starting to work with an excellent wood carver there, he makes the most divine little things out of heart of cedar. Such a cryin’ shame I’ll have to keep coming back to Malinalco on such a regular basis to see the town and buy his things, I might just have to move there and be done with it!

2 thoughts on “Malinalco’s Spell

  1. >Hello Mexchic!I LOVE your blog – I have been a lover of Mexico and Mexican art and aesthetics since I lived there for the summer of 1988. I was 20. I lived with a family in the city of Merida in the Yucatan (plenty of Americans there, I realized later) I fell in love with Mexico – and this post reminds me of the smaller towns and places we would go – oh my heart !If I were you, I'd move to Malinalco too :)Makes me want to dig up my old photos and post them up on my blogWell, cheers -I signed up here for a google feed – looking forward to reading about your discoveries~marcella

  2. >I am thrilled to hear mexchic makes you happy and is bringing up all the good memories you have of being in Mexico. And I'll definitely make a point to post more about the little towns for you! Please do find those old pics and post them, I'd love to see!xo

Leave a Reply

