oaxacan style





We were just in Oaxaca for the 2009 Guelaguetza
and I have millions of photographs displaying the incredible handworked and varied regional costumes of Oaxaca for view front and center during the festival, but my favorites of the bunch, tended towards the more timeless and wearable, things I’d be able to use on a daily basis, such as the traditional huaraches, I saw many variations on these, one lady even had them in black patent leather, others wore fantastical colored skirts with rick rack, lace and embroidery, men in straw fedoras with a black ribbon and others carried colorful practical straw satchels.
2 thoughts on “oaxacan style

  1. >I love the blouses and the skirts. There is a shopping center in Ceres, CA which is only about 15 minutes away and it caters to Mexican goods. I may take a drive out that way and see if they carry the blouses and the skirts. I love them.

Leave a Reply

